This is the subhead for the blog post

2013 SEM tournament fieldAfter some expected victories and a few shockers, we’re into the second round of the 2013 SEM tournament!

Among the most intriguing results of round 1:

Andrew Goodman knocked off Andy Beal

Chris Winfield toppled new IPO titan Chris Lien of Marin Software

– 2012 semifinalist Dhiren D’Souza took down David Szetela

– Fred Vallaeys undercut Google honcho Eric Schmidt

– Joanna Lord took down Yahoo! co-founder Jerry Yang for the second straight year

– Marc Poirier (and, presumably, hordes of WFH fans) eliminated Marissa Mayer

And some of the best showdowns of the 32 entrants remaining in round 2:

– @rustybrick vs. defending champ @bgtheory

– @dannysullivan vs. home-bracket favorite @rodnitzky

–  @joannalord vs. 2012 runner-up @joekerschbaum

– @kevin_lee_qed vs. @lisarocksSEM (who upset Google’s Larry Page)

– @aimclear vs. @mvanwagner (who knocked out #ppcchat maven Matt Umbro)

– @lieblink vs. Sergey Brin (the last of the Google troika still standing)

Voting for round 2 closes at 12 p.m. PT on Friday. Get ’em in!

– Hillary Read, Marketing Manager